Visiting Berlin and not looking into one of its oldest churches might not be the right thing to do. Originally, a Roman Catholic Church, the Nikolaikirche is located in the Nicolaiveiertel area of central Berlin. Built in the Gothic style in the year 1230, this church offers visitors a unique opportunity to look into an exhibition that depicts about the role played by this church in the city. Also known as the church of St. Nicholas, it became a Lutheran church in the year 1539. Few tourists are aware of the fact that the famous hymn writer of the seventeenth century was the minister of this church. At around the same period, its musical director was the famous composer, Johann Crueger.
The zone around the church is popularly known as Nicholas quarter, or Nikolaiveiertel. Muhlendamm, the River Spree, Rathausstrasse, and Spandauer Strasse encompass it. The entire zone around this church consists of medieval buildings that have been restored. In a number of cases, one can also come across recent imitations. The church as it stands today is a reconstruction of the original that was ravaged by a fire during the second world war. This church also serves as a museum plus a venue for occasional concerts. Do not miss out the 41 sets of bells that it is equipped with.
Category: Berlin tourist attractions